Skip to content ↓

Learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is split into 7 areas of learning and development:

- Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  • Making Relationships
  • Self Confidence and Self Awareness
  • Managing Feelings and Behaviour

- Communication and Language (CL)

  • Listening and Attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

- Physical Development (PD)

  • Moving and Handling
  • Health and Self-care

- Literacy (L)

  • Reading
  • Writing

- Mathematics (M)

  • Numbers
  • Shape, Space and Measure

- Understanding the World (UW)

  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology

- Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

  • Exploring and Using Media and Materials
  • Being Imaginative

Early Learning Goals

Children continue their learning journey from pre-school into Reception and move up through the EYFS to achieve the Early Learning Goals at the end of the Reception academic year.

Early Learning Goals (ELGs) are statements at the end of each area of learning that summarise knowledge, skills and understanding that should be gained by the end of Reception. There are 17 ELGs which are all highlighted in grey in your child's learning journey.

Religious Education

Autumn Spring Summer


Special people

Our special books

Our special things

Our special places

Our beautiful world